S197 Mustang Forum - S197Forum.com

Go Back   S197 Mustang Forum - S197Forum.com > Mustang s197 General Forums > Pimpin' It! > Tunes!

Tunes! Car audio stuff!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2016, 04:45 AM   #21
08gtbullitt151
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 50
iTrader: 0 / 0%
08gtbullitt151 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o2sys View Post
I used a Bluetooth obd2 dongle I got from Amazon and works flawlessly.
Sorry, I meant does it show up on your touch screen, I have the same app and dongle. Does it show the info on the stereo?

Sent from my SPH-L720T using Tapatalk
08gtbullitt151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 07:06 AM   #22
o2sys
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 4,024
iTrader: 46 / 100%
o2sys is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yes it shows up
__________________
Stroked & Blown
o2sys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 07:47 PM   #23
tightwhite08
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 47
iTrader: 0 / 0%
tightwhite08 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o2sys View Post
Android 5.1.1 headunit with built in faceplate to fit our cars almost perfectly. I say almost because it's no flush but all round fits good.

Click the image to open in full size.

I bought it here:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/291847178702
I like how this looks. Link says fits 2010 but I assume it'll also fit my 08 Shaker 500 too. Did u add an amp?
tightwhite08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2016, 11:32 AM   #24
o2sys
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 4,024
iTrader: 46 / 100%
o2sys is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yes it will fit. My car is 07 with Shaker 500.
__________________
Stroked & Blown
o2sys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 06:02 PM   #25
tightwhite08
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 47
iTrader: 0 / 0%
tightwhite08 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o2sys View Post
Yes it will fit. My car is 07 with Shaker 500.
On its way! I have read a couple places that a different harness is needed to get the amps/subs in the shaker 500 to work correctly. Any issues with sound quality or subs/amps?
tightwhite08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 06:52 PM   #26
o2sys
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 4,024
iTrader: 46 / 100%
o2sys is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well you need a 5v regulator for the shaker amps or it's gonna make a loud pop everytime you start the car.

Mine came with a prewired harness already so it was straight up plug and play. The only thing I did need to tap was the dimmer wire which I teed off the wire from the info/setup/reset switch.
__________________
Stroked & Blown
o2sys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 02:55 PM   #27
46addict
13726548
 
46addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Age: 27
Posts: 995
iTrader: 1 / 100%
46addict is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Do you remember what colors the dimmer wire had?
__________________
Vista Blue Procharged 2007 GT Kurgan tuned

BBK Longtubes & O/R X--Magnapacks--FRPP hotrod cams--CMDP--3.73s--Exedy Mach 500--DSS Driveshaft
BC Racing Coilovers on 450F/335R--BMR UCA & LCA & relo brackets--MM panhard bar--Hurst Competition shifter
46addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 03:32 PM   #28
o2sys
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 4,024
iTrader: 46 / 100%
o2sys is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Off the top of my head it was the white with orange stripe.
__________________
Stroked & Blown
o2sys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 02:50 PM   #29
tightwhite08
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 47
iTrader: 0 / 0%
tightwhite08 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o2sys View Post
Well you need a 5v regulator for the shaker amps or it's gonna make a loud pop everytime you start the car.

Mine came with a prewired harness already so it was straight up plug and play. The only thing I did need to tap was the dimmer wire which I teed off the wire from the info/setup/reset switch.
Got the install started today and all went will with the supplied harnesses. One question, did you connect the OEM radio antenna to the HU? I see the tiny antenna the HU comes with but can't imagine it picks up any decent signal. Looking at the metra 40-cr10.

Besides that waiting on 12v-5v regulator and all should be good. A lot of extra wires on the xtrons but I think its just extra for supported options I am not using.

Last edited by tightwhite08; 01-10-2017 at 06:21 PM.
tightwhite08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 11:03 AM   #30
o2sys
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 4,024
iTrader: 46 / 100%
o2sys is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I think I had an extender or an adapter already installed from a previous headunit so I may have overlooked that part.
__________________
Stroked & Blown
o2sys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 06:06 PM   #31
tightwhite08
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 47
iTrader: 0 / 0%
tightwhite08 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Install complete and loving it
tightwhite08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 12:58 PM   #32
nbk13nw
forum member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 266
iTrader: 4 / 100%
nbk13nw is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Do you know what dash adapter you used for the install? I was thinking that the Metra 99-5807 should fit the XTRON, Pumpkin or JOYING units.
__________________
05' GT, 5-spd
nbk13nw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 01:03 PM   #33
o2sys
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 4,024
iTrader: 46 / 100%
o2sys is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

My Xtron unit doesn't need any dash kits. It's made to fit the opening and reused the shaker brackets.
__________________
Stroked & Blown
o2sys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 02:15 PM   #34
SeanD
forum member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: LaSalle, ON, Canada
Posts: 133
iTrader: 2 / 100%
SeanD is on a distinguished road
Default

How is the performance of this unit. I am looking at the new Android 6 units with 2/32gb memory and octa-core processor instead of this one, cause I just want to future proof it.

If I new that the Xtron For unit would be upgradable via a proc replacement card, I would jump on it now. It looks like your unit has the Rockchip PX3 proc and I recently saw a video about a new PX5 replacement card that is just plug and play and will upgrade your unit. There doesn't seem to be a clear answer if the public will be able to purchase this card or not.
__________________
2007 GT Windveil Blue (WBR 099). CDC/Foose Hood w/CDC Shaker system, Kooks LT w/Catted H-pipe and Boss 302 Side Exit Exhausts, Pype Bombss, 4.10 Gears, C&L Racer CAI, MGW Shifter, BMR Suspnsion, Steeda Spyders
SeanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 03:51 PM   #35
SeanD
forum member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: LaSalle, ON, Canada
Posts: 133
iTrader: 2 / 100%
SeanD is on a distinguished road
Default

Metra 99-5812 is the double din kit you want, but it will not fit any of the mentioned Android HU without modifications. These Chinese HU's are bigger the north American double din standards, so you will need to modify the kit a little, so the HU site perfectly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbk13nw View Post
Do you know what dash adapter you used for the install? I was thinking that the Metra 99-5807 should fit the XTRON, Pumpkin or JOYING units.
__________________
2007 GT Windveil Blue (WBR 099). CDC/Foose Hood w/CDC Shaker system, Kooks LT w/Catted H-pipe and Boss 302 Side Exit Exhausts, Pype Bombss, 4.10 Gears, C&L Racer CAI, MGW Shifter, BMR Suspnsion, Steeda Spyders
SeanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 06:23 PM   #36
nbk13nw
forum member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 266
iTrader: 4 / 100%
nbk13nw is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanD View Post
Metra 99-5812 is the double din kit you want, but it will not fit any of the mentioned Android HU without modifications. These Chinese HU's are bigger the north American double din standards, so you will need to modify the kit a little, so the HU site perfectly.
Thanks SeanD. I figured it wouod need some finessing.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk
__________________
05' GT, 5-spd
nbk13nw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger