Difficulty Shifting into Reverse After Track Day

Yoyo1

stangester
Reaction score
I found a somewhat similar post under "transmission issues" but not quite same. Thought I'd ask this.

So I just finished a track day. While going at near redline RPM and shifting from 2nd to 3rd, stupid me . . . I grinded the gear . . . twice. Ouch! My bad. They were very loud and I heard them through my helmet. I am no mechanic, but assuming that's real bad.

After the session while testing and checking the car, I noticed two things:

1. the shifting is no longer "smooth." Now very notchy.
2. particularly, shifting into reverse is really, really difficult now. Now it does not want to go into reverse. Still switches though. And it's not as simple as putting it into first gear and slightly moving a little before going into reverse. It does shift into reverse with relatively no problem but only when the car is not started...if that helps.

Before, the shifting was all buttery smooth. I just got a transmission oil change before the event, using Motorcraft Mercon V. Before my bad shifting incident at the track, the shifting from gear to gear and even into reverse has always felt smooth, no notchy, catching, etc. Never any issues.

I am real concerned I screwed something up. I have spent quite a bit of hard earned cash on my beloved S197 car that I bought new back in 2008, and man I feel bad. Any ideas, thoughts, recommendations? If so and the suggestion is "take it to a shop" and have them look at it, any suggestions of a good, fair priced one in either LA County or Orange County in California? Any help appreciated. Thanks as always.

2008 Mustang GT, 123K miles.

slackinoff

S197 Team Member
Reaction score
I am no expert at all with manual transmissions. But I have experienced how much a fluid change can effect the feel of the shifting. Try another oil change. Penz synchromesh is awesome for our trans as well.

Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk

Yoyo1

stangester
Reaction score