Problems with O2 sensors

12lavav6

forum member
Reaction score
I am having problems with my 02 sensors going bad after i installed my bbk LT headers. I do have the extensions in and i have talked to others that are using them and they do not cause them any troubles. The CE codes i am getting are p2197 with is the upstream sensor stuck lean. I have the NTK wide band sensors installed right now. I have check for leaks several times and nothing is leaking so what could cause the sensor to keep going bad i have replaced them several times and the code goes away for a little while then it comes back

randys06v6

forum member
Reaction score
I'm no expert... But isn't that just a faulty code that your tuner turns off for you when they write the tune?

I used to have a code come up as well but it meant nothing so I had my tuner turn off that light whenever the code came up...

I could be wrong lol.

Or a bad sensor? Swap the extenders with each other and see if the same side code still comes up. If not that then it could be a tune issue as well. Maybe they didn't edit the tune to have the o2 sensors located far down enough stream?

Last edited by a moderator:

12lavav6

forum member
Reaction score
Or a bad sensor? Swap the extenders with each other and see if the same side code still comes up

i changed the extensions with brand new ones and i changed the o2 sensors and it still comes up. there is also another code that pops up from time to time. I dont remember the code but its over current voltage something. and i have tried to clear the code several times and when the car is in idle it is sometimes rough

Captainstr8edge

Hardcore Superhero
Reaction score
How does it drive? I crossed the 02's on my GT got the same code. Be 100% sure you didnt cross them. I dont know about the v6 but its easy to do on the gt.

12lavav6

forum member
Reaction score