Stripping Off Wax

Sky Render

Stig's Retarded Cousin
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
My Mustang turned 5 in February. I keep this thing clean like it's my religion, but I seal/wax it twice a year at a minimum, and I should probably strip all that stuff off before I do my annual spring detailing this year.

So, what's the "proper" way to strip the wax off the paint? Technically, dish soap would work, but I've heard that it will dry out the clear coat.

I've also heard something about using rubbing alcohol. Personally, I'd rather use a car wash soap specifically designed for wax removal (if that is such a thing).

So, what is the preferred or "correct" way to remove wax from the paint?

nbk13nw

forum member
Reaction score
Dish soap then an isopropyl run down should do it.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

06SN197

Livin. L-I-V-I-N
Reaction score
Dish soap then an isopropyl run down should do it.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

I'm no expert but when I googled the question what you said is what I read. Seems dish soap does the trick followed by isopropyl

Sky Render

Stig's Retarded Cousin
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Yes, I clay bar the car every spring.

Looks like the preferred method, according to Autogeek, is to wash the car with soap, rinse, use the Paint Prep to strip the wax, rinse, clay bar, polish (if necessary), then seal/wax.

2011/5.0

Reaction score
I don't think he meant the wash and gloss,the citrus wash at 1 oz per gallon will

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

JEWC_Motorsports

S197 Junkie
S197 Team Member
Reaction score