Thoughts on MMR headrest camera mount?

forum member
Reaction score
The disclaimer says not to use it with a passenger on board. I would think your camera/phone could become a projectile if something fails in the event of a crash. But driving events require helmets anyway so I can't see it being a huge risk of head injuries. An impact hard enough to startle a mount like this could break bones/organs so you'll have bigger problems to worry about anyway.

Just my thoughts. I am no safety engineer. As with all MMR products, use at your own risk. :stir:

Boone

Automotive Enthusiast
Reaction score
Many professional drivers mount Go-Pros in their vehicles. I don't believe the headrest would be compromised in any way from the mounting in question. It's not like Michael Schumacher's incident while skiing that was so unfortunate. His injuries were exacerbated by the weakening of the helmet structure from the camera mount.

Point the mount out to your instructor, and if he doesn't like it... remove it immediately with no questions asked.

TGR96

el blanco nino
Reaction score
I like a suction cup mount for my GoPro. You can move it around to different mounting locations on the car between each session to get different angles. But my videos are 99% just for fun and entertainment. :shrug:

SoundGuyDave

This Space For Rent
Reaction score
I haven't seen a pic of it mounted in the car, but based solely on the view angle, it looks like the end of the "billy club" would protrude into the passenger side seat space. I would hate to get beaned or stabbed with that in the event of a wreck, or even worse, have that snag the helmet tether on the way by and violently yank on my neck...