Connecting Rod Direction?

BeachMonkey100

forum member
Reaction score
After talking with some members on here and my best friend google, I have seen most say the rods direction doesn't matter due to the non inverted radius of the crank meaning the rod can go either way. But after doing some more searching I have see where ford states that the identification tabs on the rod must face forward. Any input?

swflastang05

Back for More
Reaction score
I'm no expert but as I understand it the side with the wider gap b/w the edge of the bearing and the edge of the cap goes toward the crank. I read this in a thread here somewhere, let me see if I can find it.

BeachMonkey100

forum member
Reaction score
To be honest I don't understand what he's saying, if he's referring to the tang then it somewhat makes sense. And both sides of the rods and bearings are the same for my build.

swflastang05

Back for More
Reaction score
If you look at the big end of the rod with the bearings installed you'll see the bearing doesn't seat dead center in the housing, but rather one side is pretty close to the edge of the housing and the other side has a gap or space, on mine its about .070. That side with the gap is supposed to face the crank journal. If you look at this pic the gap is on the top.

BeachMonkey100

forum member
Reaction score
You mean the wider side facing the cheek of the crank? Meaning the smaller gaps facing each other in the middle of the crank.

And I'm using boss 302 rods

BeachMonkey100

forum member
Reaction score
Alright here we go so I understand this fully,

This way: #1
u9uhe5u9.jpg

Or this way: #2
azy4y4a9.jpg

19COBRA93

Ford Racing
Reaction score
Yes, generally the wider gap would go against the crank side, and the narrow gap against the other rod. Depending on the crank used, and the bearings used, it may not matter.

BeachMonkey100

forum member
Reaction score