FRPP M-18000-C vs Koni yellows ?

Pentalab

forum member
Reaction score
The FRPP adjustable dampers are monotube types. They appear to be a tweaked version of a Tokico D spec, designed slightly differently, with a different adjustment tool. FRPP has simultaneous adjustment of compression + rebound. The Koni yellow's are adjustable rebound only..and twin tube. I have no experience with either, and don't know anyone who has used the FRPP product. What's the consensus ?

Sky Render

Stig's Retarded Cousin
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
A lot of people I've talked to seem to dislike the Tokico shocks, both in terms of performance and reliability/longevity. I personally have no experience with them.

DevGittinJr

Throbbing Member
Reaction score
The FRPP adjustable dampers are monotube types.

False.

They appear to be a tweaked version of a Tokico D spec, designed slightly differently, with a different adjustment tool.

They are spec'd by Multimatic and built by Tokico for Ford Racing - says so right on the shocks.

The FRPP dampers have OE length housings, which isn't good on a lowered car. FWIW, I had the FRPP adj dampers and K springs. I now have H&R RSS c/o's which are mono-tube with shortened housings. They have over twice the spring rate and a much better ride quality.

Last edited:

DevGittinJr

Throbbing Member
Reaction score
So they are substantially different than the standard D-spec sold by Steeda?

I doubt it. I'd bet the only real difference is probably valving. Also, the FRPP's had no "clicks" in the adjustment, but rather a continuous range of eight full turns. Not sure about d-spec's.

Pentalab

forum member
Reaction score
Every dealer I contacted sez the FRPP M-18000-C adjustable shocks are mono tube..front + rear...go figure. If the bellows type rubber covers were removed from the front struts, we would know at a glance. The mono tubes have bigger diam pistons.