Ok, so what did I do wrong?

Mr. Q

forum member
Reaction score
So, I'm using my HF DA with CG VSS to do some mild correcting and using CG yellow hex pad with about 5-10lbs pressure and then this happens. What did I do wrong? I saw some smoke and immediate stopped, accidentally lifted a but as it was slowing down and the middle came flying out. I'm new to this so I'm not sure what I did wrong. Ih, also at the time, there was no direct sunlight on the part of the car I was working on.
Also, I have these ugly spots, looks like hard water spots. Any hints as to how to get rid of them? Thanks
4443f851814311c57f97674d07fe2f46.jpg
e13e159772a926e04df9e9398a865cd2.jpg
1f01e485e212eba7b6e6201520c6f1f5.jpg
227a1da4526f757dd784523aa97fac21.jpg

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Mr. Q

forum member
Reaction score
Here's another picture of the spot, there are about 14 more like it. Dang, it's difficult to get on camera.
fe459c56365d411a8f124496f6054629.jpg

Finished product :)
d9e165aab312a9f9561eafa0e11caeeb.jpg

f4825811fc6df19f78c783dc826391e3.jpg

Last edited:

Gab

Bullitthead
Reaction score
I'm curious about what you did wrong myself. I've recently purchased a polisher and CG products, and I'm a tick apprehensive about getting started. Is that pad old?

Mr. Q

forum member
Reaction score
That was a brand new pad. I guess the only thing I can think of is that I was putting to much pressure on it?

Don't be afraid to try, I think with these machines, it's difficult to truly mess something up.
I've done tons of research so that i wouldn't mess up my paint.
For instance, I used a nanoskin prep mitt today instead of clay and I totally screwed up and marred the paint in one spot. That yellow pad fixed it up perfect.

I started with a wash/nanoskin prepp, vss, blacklight, seal, and lastly wax.

Last edited:

01yellerCobra

forum member
Reaction score