On3 turbo kit education

fonz3482

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I started a thread about how to get the most hp out of $5k and basically was told to get a used or new supercharger and install it on my own. I have contacted department of boost and I'm waiting on a reply from them. I have also been speaking to a member about a used supercharger system. I also contacted a local performance shop recommended to me by a friend to get some suggestions. The owner their says 5k isn't enough to supercharge a car with a good system. I mentioned department of boost and he said the eaton superchargers are kinda poor quality?? Whether that is true or not, idk.... So I asked what he would do in my situation and he suggested I look into On3 turbo kits. I asked for suggestions on what it would cost for a kit, installation and tuning and he said to look at their website. Well that is no help to me because I have no experience with turbo's or FI systems so I have no idea what I'm looking at and they have several systems with several options and I have no idea what I need, what I should add, and what I will need extra besides what's listed On the On3 turbo page. I did search the forum and I saw some good stuff and some very scary stuff with these systems. I think most of the scary stuff was from not tuning the car and giving it boost, but I'm sure some like these systems and some hate them. I'm just looking for input on these and what it will probably cost vs the cost of a supercharger. Also pro's and cons of these systems. Both options(turbo vs SC) seem scary with me being uneducated on this stuff its really hard to think about spending that kind of money and end up with a car in pieces, unfinished or blown up! So unless I can take it to a shop and have it all done, or get my mind wrapped around doing most of this on my own I may just end up with some cams, and bolt-ons and then pray that the car wakes up enough to entertain me because I'm currently bored with the car. I'm sorry for starti