running hot

csracing

forum member
Reaction score
I'm working on tuning and have noticed that the coolant temp on my car has been running in the 215-225 range. I have a 180 degree t-stat installed and it had no issue keeping cool with the original engine. Are these engines prone to have air pockets that get stuck or is there something else that isn't obvious to me that is making the engine run hot? Ambient today is about 75 degrees so it's not overly hot outside.

thanks
csr

07 Boss

Reaction score
Having a 180* thermostat does not mean it's supposed to keep it at 180*, it's just the point where the cooling system opens up and starts working. Today's modern engines are designed to run around 210*-220* so I'm not sure what you are worried about. You're right about where you should be. If you ran with no thermostat it would still reach the same temps, just take longer to do so.

csracing

forum member
Reaction score
I know that. The old setup ran around 192 degrees max per the data logs. A 30 degree delta is too much.

Stephen31201

forum member
Reaction score
If its any help, I run 195-198 consistently on a blown 4.6. If you have a tune check to see what your fan temp setting is. Also, I know if sounds basic, but double check your fan is coming on. I spent several hours chasing a very similar issue only to finally realize it was a blown fuse and the fan just wasn't coming on.

csracing

forum member
Reaction score
I'll double check the fan as well as how I have it configured. I'm fairly sure it's running properly as I seem to remember hearing it run.

Stephen31201

forum member
Reaction score
I know it sounds basic, but I feel the more I learn the more I skip the basics and go straight to in-depth thinking about issues.

Pentalab

forum member
Reaction score