If shocks and springs changed...need struts changed?

Yoyo1

stangester
Reaction score
Hi. I just posted yesterday about track prepping car and got good answers. Thx guys!

From that post, I just realized something: If I switched out stock stuff for Ford lowering P springs, Billstein HD shocks, an SR Panhard bar (man it makes a lot of clunking noise), do I need to change struts as well? I'm no mechanic but I pushed the car front up and down and it does not to bounce so I am thinking I don't need struts...that correct?

Also, since only a one inch drop and front wheels look even, do I need camber/caster plate changed? I thought I read somewhere they should be changed when lowering cars. But again my car only dropped one inch.

I am a title novice at this...but so far it's fun!!

dre256

forum member
Reaction score
I lowered my car 3/4 to an inch lower. You don't need camber/caster plates nor an adjustable pan head bar. You are at the max of lowering it before you need to do stuff. Don't forget front end alignment after springs as your toe will be off a little. If you change shocks you should do struts too. Always better to do them together. Any reason you are just changing shocks?

Yoyo1

stangester
Reaction score
Hello. Thx for reply. Changed shocks cause haven't done so for awhile and tires were cupping. Thought I would do everything but mechanic at time said I did not have to change struts, which sounded kind of odd. So I went ahead and did the upgrades. Yes I will go ahead and do the struts. I read that I am also going to need to change the strut mounts?

Gabe

Whippled Coyote
Reaction score
It's a good idea to get new strut mounts when doing new struts, especially if the car is a few years old.
Careful when removing the old ones, they have a tendency to come apart and drop bearings everywhere.

The thing with lower a car is now you're gonna ask the stock shocks/struts to work 100% of the time in a range they were not designed for.