S197 Brake Tech Q&A with an FRPP Engineer

DusterRT

Defected to Deutsche
Reaction score
Below is an email exchange between an individual and a Mustang Challenge technical manager (original post dated 2008, names withheld by request, I've 'adjusted' a few things to make it easier to follow). I'm re-posting this from another forum as I feel there is a lot of good information here straight from the people who know our cars best!

"Part 1" is the email sent, and "Part 2" is the response from a Ford Engineer. The response isn't point-by-point as the questions are asked, but pretty much everything is addressed.

PART 1:

Mr. *****,

I spoke with you briefly earlier today. I really don't know anything as I'm not an engineer only what I have read......Please forward.

I own a 2006 Mustang GT the car is used primarily at open track events STVOA, HPDE, etc. The car is equipped with brake cooling ducts, braided stainless steel brake line (Goodrich), I run Brembo or Motul high temp brake fluid, and has Hawk HP Plus brake pads. I always bleed the system before events and bed in the pads and rotors when they are replaced. During my last event I experienced brake fade I believe it was related to the pads because of there temperature rating. I'm planning on using Carbontech XP12 front and XP10s for the rear during the next event. I want to step up to sticky tires and I believe the stock rotors/calipers are marginal for the way I'm using my car and I'm looking to possibly upgrade the brake system based on your recommendations. I'm leery of going to the aftermarket because I believe they primarily focus on "bling".