Anybody modded an '05-09 v6 shifter?

Lightningtruck

S197 Newb
Reaction score
Hello all, I just bought a salvage '05 V6 car to use as a daily driver (all stock, I promise I'm not modding it too much!!!), and am in the process of rebuilding it. One thing I noticed is that this thing needs a shifter. bad.

I used the search button and saw some folks are using the Hurst unit, but not many on the Steeda Sport shifter. And yes, the slick MGW deal is out there. Question is this: Anyone just modify the stock shifter? I mean, I'm thinking of making a steel block and welding to the bottom to mimic the Saleen shift block (for a LOT less than 50 bucks), and then cutting the stick off and welding a plate on to accept a Hurst stick. Am I crazy, or just a tightwad? Or both?

Thanks,
Kevin

Whoo hoo, first post! Yeah, I'm a newbie with S197....but longtime wrench on Foxbodies.

Nice site!

Kevin

Last edited by a moderator:

Lightningtruck

S197 Newb
Reaction score
Doing some homework.

Looking at the Hurst shifters from the V8 cars versus the V6 stock shifter sitting next to me, it appears that the only difference between a V8 and V6 shifter is the long rod that runs forward and anchors to the transmission. The V6 car has more of a bend to it up near the front mount, whereas the V8 shifter is flatter.

That said, if anyone is reading this post and has a V8 stock or Hurst shifter out of the car, can you measure for me the distance from the center of the shifter pivot up to the center of the front anchor mount? I am wondering if I could take a Hurst V8 shifter and simply modify (bend?) the rod running forward to create a V6 shifter. it looks suspicious in the pics I have seen...

Thanks,
Kevin

Lightningtruck

S197 Newb
Reaction score
No worries.