CD ERROR! Aftermarket head unit?

Discussion in 'Tunes!' started by golkhl, Jan 12, 2017.

  1. golkhl

    golkhl forum member

    Posts:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    My shaker 500 head unit will not play cd's and shows the dreaded cd error. What are some good options for a plug and play aftermarket head unit?
     
  2. Sky Render

    Sky Render Stig's Retarded Cousin

    Posts:
    8,516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Who the heck still uses CDs? 1993 called; it wants its technology back.
     
  3. bujeezus

    bujeezus forum member

    Posts:
    2,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Location:
    Alabama
    I still use mine. But then I've only got 5 CDs I listen to regularly.
     
  4. Sky Render

    Sky Render Stig's Retarded Cousin

    Posts:
    8,516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    In all seriousness, what year is the car? Can you find another head unit used? If not, might want to look into aftermarket, but the Shaker 500 systems have amps and stuff that make installing an aftermarket head unit more than simple plug and play.
     
  5. ponys197

    ponys197 forum member

    Posts:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Location:
    Troy OH
    I had the Shaker 500 in my car and I got a Kenwood off Crutchfield and I still have all the amps working. They will sell you the right install kit you need to make sure it all works and provide support as well for self install. The Kenwood I installed has way more volume and better sound quality than the stock unit.
     
  6. golkhl

    golkhl forum member

    Posts:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Car is an 08, trying to hunt down a working factory replacement. Dont really want to spend a bunch of money to go aftermarket.
     
  7. golkhl

    golkhl forum member

    Posts:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Just removed head unit so that i could unplug the cd changer, looks like FoMoCo put a refurbished 2006 cd changer in my 08! Stereo was assembled on jan. 28, 2008; cd changer has a jan. 16, 2006 date stamp with a handwritten R next to it. WTF!
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017
  8. golkhl

    golkhl forum member

    Posts:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Found a factory replacement here on the forums.
     
  9. golkhl

    golkhl forum member

    Posts:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ended up having to buy a new cd changer. ReplacementRadios.com sells oem 07-09 Delco CD6 MP3 radio drive mechanism for $75 shippef.
     

Share This Page