Door panel swap question

Discussion in 'Mustang Chit Chat' started by lemkau77, Feb 7, 2018.

  1. lemkau77

    lemkau77 forum member

    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    2021-14 door panels into 05-09 mustang. I have searched and tried to look into this as much as I can, so I apologize if this annoys anyone. I know most people cut the door panel switches out of the 05-09 and install them / glue them into the new panels. I am sort of not sure about how I feel about doing that, and was wondering if anyone had tried to rewire the new door switches into the existing vehicle wiring. If I cant do so I will go the other route, just wanted to look into my options.
     
  2. 07gts197

    07gts197 forum member

    Posts:
    499
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Naples, Fl
    Id like to know this as well.
     
  3. ghunt81

    ghunt81 New parts on old junk!

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Location:
    Clarksburg, WV
    Someone here had been looking into doing that...looking for a wiring schematic because the wires are different.
    I looked at just swapping the "guts" of the switches but they are completely different.

    The driver's side switch body will snap right into the newer panel but needs a filler panel behind the switches because the newer ones have bigger rockers, and without it there's a big hole. The passenger side one is the one that has to be glued in, I don't know why it's so different but it takes a little work. The end result looks pretty factory (Not sure why the colors look so different in the last pic, they don't look like that in real life).

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Wes06

    Wes06 forum member

    Posts:
    5,261
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    yeah i did the "easy" route, because i was told there was no way to wire them to work correctly, and simply trimmed what was needed and glued them in.

    However a few months later someone said it WAS possible to wire them up, but never got the actual details for it, just a tease
     
  5. o2sys

    o2sys forum member

    Posts:
    4,250
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    I bought the wiring for the driver side switches and wired them up.

    It was only 4 wires for both from the car and from the switch so after 16 different possibility I got it to work.

    But for some strange reason the passenger button had more wires. The switch required like 6 wires while the wiring from my car only had 4. Got to the point where I got the switch working but it wasn't fully functional.

    For instance I lost the one touch up/down feature. Not a big deal but this meant in order to roll the windows up or down you had to press is only halfway or it would stop working. It was hard for my passengers to understand lol.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  6. lemkau77

    lemkau77 forum member

    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Thanks for the info guys! I appreciate it!
     
  7. o2sys

    o2sys forum member

    Posts:
    4,250
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    Sorry my mistake, I looked at my old thread about this and I mixed up the driver switch and passenger switch experience lol

    The passenger side only has for wires but you lose auto up/down.

    The driver was the one I couldn’t figure out.

    But then I just ended up trimming the switch and put on both sides the original buttons from my car.

    Also you need to know that newer door panels switches light up blue pre-10 cars light up green.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  8. ghunt81

    ghunt81 New parts on old junk!

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Location:
    Clarksburg, WV
    Yeah, I noticed that after my swap, so my door lock buttons are blue...I need to swap them out for the old ones but I don't feel like taking the door panels off again.
     
  9. testcase448

    testcase448 Junior Member

    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    WHAT ELSE IS REQUIRED FOR THIS SWAP?
    Any pics of a completed change over?
     
  10. o2sys

    o2sys forum member

    Posts:
    4,250
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    Just need two complete doors that's all:
    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  11. ghunt81

    ghunt81 New parts on old junk!

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Location:
    Clarksburg, WV
    You don't really "require" anything else.

    I had to do some work to get my panels to sit flush with the door.

    I have a writeup on the whole thing in the tech articles forum.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page