Gt500 Fuel Harness

Discussion in 'Mustang Chit Chat' started by TzReddy, Jan 7, 2018.

  1. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    I bought his harness used and I have a gt500 fuel hat. 2 wires are cut on the harness and was wondering where they go. Also seeing both are gt500 harness and hat the plug is direct but the plug on the outside of the cover I am assuming gets wired to the original plug from stock harness. Do they sell a diy plug for that or can I just solder them together and if so which wires go where?[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. slackinoff

    slackinoff Senior Member

    Posts:
    794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Location:
    East Texas
    I don't know much about this, but the cut wires look like positive power. If so, I think I would soldering them. Not sure on the plug.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T377A using Tapatalk
     
  3. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    Bump


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    Double bump


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. DiMora

    DiMora More Is Better

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Fayetteville, GA
  6. DiMora

    DiMora More Is Better

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Fayetteville, GA
    The seller might've had a Kenne Bell or other brand Boost-A-pump wired into there also...which may throw you off with pieces of wire that are different colors
     
  7. ILW84U

    ILW84U Senior Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The wires in the first pic just need to be soldered back together. They are the power wires to the FPDMs. The larger plug goes to the fuel pump & the smaller 2 wire plug goes to the crossover pump on the passenger side saddle of the fuel tank. There are 2 wires that need to be crossed over on that plug. I can grab the instructions for that later & post them if you need.
     
  8. DiMora

    DiMora More Is Better

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    801
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Fayetteville, GA
  9. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    If you can that would be great


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    Do I have to extend the wires on the 2 wire plug to reach the passenger side?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. ILW84U

    ILW84U Senior Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  12. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    The stock plug and the 2 wire plug in the picture aren’t the same. They won’t plug into each other. Do I need to buy a different plug to rearrange the wires?
     
  13. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    Or can I just solder the together?
     
  14. ILW84U

    ILW84U Senior Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I did mine 8 years ago but I am pretty sure the plug was the same. Maybe someone else can answer.
     
  15. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    Anyone??
     
  16. slackinoff

    slackinoff Senior Member

    Posts:
    794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Location:
    East Texas
    I would just solder and get on with it man

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T377A using Tapatalk
     
  17. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida

    Thats what I am going to do. I will line up the 2 wires from the gt500 harness with the 2 wire plug and pull the 2 wires out of the original harness and solder together. Hope they line up right as Ive read that the Ford directions are wrong on the color cordination
     
  18. slackinoff

    slackinoff Senior Member

    Posts:
    794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Location:
    East Texas
    Oh damn, well if you can't find anymore research on the colors. At least it's a 50-50 odds. If it's wrong hopefully it only throws a code or something. Worst would be to burn up a controller. Wish I had more info for you.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T377A using Tapatalk
     
  19. TzReddy

    TzReddy forum member

    Posts:
    470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Florida

    I believe if its wrong it only shows false reading on gas gauge.
     
    slackinoff likes this.
  20. slackinoff

    slackinoff Senior Member

    Posts:
    794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Location:
    East Texas
    Oh then fire the old iron up and get cracking.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T377A using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page