Running noise

carmine34

Reaction score
Hello, thanks for letting me join! I'm new to the modern Mustang scene and just bought a 2008 V6 auto which is pretty much stock except for the PO must have changed the rear end to a posi and possible lower gear ratio. So I'm having this nasty howling/moaning at all speeds but worst over 40mph. Bearings and brakes check out ok. I think the tranny is fine but I can't tell if it's the rear end or the tail of the tranny making all the noise. Also the tranny shifts thru all 5 gears before 40mph. Seems like the speedo is 5-10mph over what it should be. So if it is the rear will the Ford friction modifier help clear up the howling? Also, is their a way to tune the shift points so it shifts later? I did the half ass drain the tranny of 3 quarts and dilute it a little with new Merc 5, the fluid is dark but clean, she has 56k on her. Driveshaft is still original 2 piece but seems to be solid no flex. Help any suggestions for getting rid of this moaning is much appreciated!

VistaBlue09

Reaction score
Does the car do a one wheel or two wheel burnout?
Can you contact the previous owner to ask what was done to the rear axle? Is it a stock 7.5 with a Traction-Lok added with lower gears? Or an 8.8 from a GT?
If the gears weren’t done correctly they can be very noisy whether it’s a 7.5 or 8.8 rear axle.

carmine34

Reaction score
Unfortunately, no I can't contact PO, yes it's definitely posi now, so the V6s come with an open 7.5? I thought they were all 8.8? The axle code is: BG open rear. I had it up on jacks and confirmed its a posi so the guy had it changed. Sounds like this is not the rear end I would want to learn how to change gears and set lash on? Sounds like someone with a lot of experience needs to work on these? Is there a chance the friction modifier would quiet it up any?

JimC

Reaction score