Tuners help please, Maf nearly maxed??

Discussion in '2005+ Mustang GT 4.6L Tech' started by ARMORINE, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. ARMORINE

    ARMORINE forum member

    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    tulsa, oklahoma
    i have a 2007 Shelby GT with an eagle stroker, 300 CI 4.6 3v N/A engine. max effort off the shelf build, stage 3 MHS heads with oversized valves, 2013 gt500 injectors, comp 127600 cams, frpp intake, FRPP twin 62mm throttlebody, jlt series 3 110mm CAI, 11.5:1 compression ratio, E85 fueled.

    long story short my OEM MAF is nearly maxed out. i don't understand how this is possible. i know guys have run over 600 on stock maf. I'm pulling 225 maf counts at idle, around 1.4v. almost 900 MAF counts at around 6k and still have 1200 RPM till i hit rev limiter. i dont understand how this thing is pulling this much air. has any one had this issue before? its pulling so many MAF counts my tuner is having alot of trouble getting it to switch tables and crank timing in. it pulls great till 6k then it goes wildly rich, he's saying theres not enough data points left to properly smooth out the AF. im not sure what to do at this point. hes as lost as i am at this point. he suggested getting a gt500 MAF sensor and seeing what it does. any help would be greatly appreciated. thank you.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  2. stkjock

    stkjock ---- Madmin ---- Staff Member

    Posts:
    36,103
    Likes Received:
    144
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Why not just get a MAFia from Diablo?
     
  3. ARMORINE

    ARMORINE forum member

    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    tulsa, oklahoma
    ive never used a mafia. i assume it scale the maf?
     
  4. lito

    lito forum member

    Posts:
    3,872
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    I smell some BS here, and the GT500 is the same MAF, your tuner should know that.
     
  5. LTHLCHRG

    LTHLCHRG forum member

    Posts:
    350
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto,Canada
    Have a brand new diablo mafia that I never used if your looking for one.pm me if interested
     
    ARMORINE likes this.
  6. ARMORINE

    ARMORINE forum member

    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    tulsa, oklahoma
    are they? i dont believe they share the same part number. i'll have to look now.

    the counts are real. were both scratchin our head here as to why its pulling so much air. i could have some other issue though and not be pulling so much.
     
  7. 46addict

    46addict 13726548

    Posts:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Location:
    Lawrenceville, GA
    A new Mafia will cost as much as an SCT BA5000 or equivalent. I've had a couple tuners tell me the Mafias are fail prone and I've experienced issues with them first hand. I would just get a real MAF and be done with it.
     
    ARMORINE likes this.
  8. ARMORINE

    ARMORINE forum member

    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    tulsa, oklahoma
    im going to the shop today. my buddy just bought out a local shop that specialized in mustangs. were gonna dig through their stock. id be hard pressed to believe we wont find a better MAF sensor. those guys had been in business for nearly ten years and never threw anything away. if we don't find one im just gonna order a BA5000.
     
  9. RocketcarX

    RocketcarX 95% of my weight is fuel

    Posts:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Burton Texas
    There is no way an NA build needs an extended range sensor, your MAf scaling is likely off, injector size, some parameter like that.
     
  10. CammedS197

    CammedS197 forum member

    Posts:
    282
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Location:
    Lake Mary, FL
    Hey I would honestly get with Lito. Something is clearly wrong. I'm at 3.98 volts and have hit 4.00 volts on mine na and I'm just your standard bolt on 3V cammed and exhaust. Thats reving to 6750rpm. Never had an issue. No Idea what the MAF's limit is anyways.
     
  11. 05stroker

    05stroker Never enough power guy!

    Posts:
    12,904
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Bullard Tx.
    Yea, you don't need a MAF, you need a new tuner.
     
  12. Marble

    Marble forum member

    Posts:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Location:
    Shasta county CA
    Or maybe have your tuner chat with someone and let them look at the logs and tune.

    Even some of the better tuners end up getting stumped sometimes.
     
  13. JeremyH

    JeremyH 3V Fuel Guru

    Posts:
    20,525
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Its not a physical maf issue especially if its in draw thru still. I would wager its injector to maf scale issue in the tune.
     

Share This Page