Breather vs Catch Can

SidneyGT

Reaction score
Taking environmental issues out of the equation, what's better, breather on the valve covers or a catch can.

Wes06

forum member
Reaction score
for the engine? possibly breathers venting away from the intake so oil doesnt possibly lower the effective octane.

CJ-

forum member
Reaction score
Id go with a catch can, reason for that would be because when the oil is hot, it produces gases, gases that will degrade your engine oil if they are not sucked out. The catch-can will allow the intake to suck those gases up, while maintaining the life of your oil.

I used to be a Porsche Tech and 1997-up Boxster & 1998-up Carreras had constant issues with there Oil Breather system being overwhelmed by oil and eventually they'd smoke out the exhaust. I had a long conversation with Porsche of USA and I asked if I could do away with the AOS (Air to Oil Separator) system and replace it with a breather... They strongly advised me not to do that because of these Gases i mentioned above needed to be sucked from the crankcase to maintain oil viscosity/quality.

pics06gtstang

forum member
Reaction score
Taking environmental issues out of the equation, what's better, breather on the valve covers or a catch can.

what ever you decide i dont think it will fucking matter about the enviroment .
thats to fucked up to even try and fix .
USE THE SEARCH BUTTON .

SidneyGT

Reaction score
what ever you decide i dont think it will fucking matter about the enviroment .
thats to fucked up to even try and fix .
USE THE SEARCH BUTTON .

I have used the search function and found its still an open question. I just thought I'd ask it again and see if there are any new ideas or thoughts. I see your response is typical of most forms / social media. Nothing constructive. So please do not resort to yelling and using profanity.

Have a nice day.

06 T-RED S/C GT

forum member
Reaction score