Clutch shudder?

mustangGT90210

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'll start this by saying I am new to owning manual transmission cars. I'm a Ford certified automatic transmission tech, and I work on Lincolns almost exclusively. I have basically zero working knowledge with manuals at this point in my career lol

I own a 2012 GT 6MT with 102k miles on it. I've had it for a couple months, and put about 1500 miles on it. I have started to notice that when I leave the garage in the mornings, it feels like I'm getting some clutch shudder as I pull out of the driveway, and also after taking off from the first stop sign down the road from my house. After the first couple stop-and-go's, I have no issues and don't feel this light shuddering for the rest of the day, until I park the car overnight. Then the next morning, the shudder is back. It only happens right when the clutch is probably 80% to 90% engaged, and I have zero clutch slippage under power.

Is this a normal thing, and I'm chasing a ghost? Or is this the beginning of the clutch telling me that it's on its last legs? Hopefully I can learn from some of you guys with manual trans experience!

redfirepearlgt

forum member
Reaction score
It may be that the car has an aftermarket clutch in it. A stock clutch exhibiting a problem of concern would IMHO be getting worse as it warmed up rather than getting better if there was an issue (typical of hot spots on flywheel or pressure plate or both). You really won't know unless you take a peek. What you are describing IMHO sounds like a common symptom for an aftermarket clutch running a semi metallic clutch disc. They are more "on - off" with less slip at engagement and often have been known to exhibit shudder early in engagement. If it isn't slipping and this goes away as you say this would be my guess. I always stayed with organic clutches for better street manners.

I wish I had your 6R80 knowledge in my head...assuming you work on them.

WJBertrand

forum member
Reaction score