New to Mustangs

Chistopher

Reaction score
Howdy folks,

I'm new to the car modding world, its never really been in the cards to put money towards improving a car until now, but I'd like to know your thoughts on what the basic, fundamental mods for a 07 S197 are. Currently I'm more focused on ideas for the interior, but sometime after this pandemic blows over I will start looking at switching it to manual and putting a proper V8 in it.

I've got a few things on my mind that I'm looking for, but I don't quite have the experience to know the best parts/brands to fulfill my needs. What I'm looking for is:

A steering wheel with volume and cruise control, probably going for a Boss style unit. Will this work with my aftermarket radio?

A reliable nitro kit.

A voltmeter, oil pressure guage, and a nitro pressure gauge. Preferably all on the dash above the radio.

A keyless push button start, if at all possible, from what I see that's not completely possible.

Any recommendations for other basic mods that I should do outside of the engine and transmission, good brand names, or tips for installs? Like I said, I'm new to car mods and new to Mustangs, so I'd be happy to know your thoughts on the matter.

Thanks,
Chistopher

Midlife Crises

Reaction score
If your goal is a v8 manual trans car then you should start with one. Swapping from a v6 auto trans is going to be a lot more work than you think.

DieHarder

Reaction score
Worry about handling mods first. Depending on model (if you have a V6 base) the braking system is near useless if you plan to hop it up to any decent horsepower level. As Midlife says better to find a V8 stick and go from there. You'll thank yourself later.

Olerodder

Reaction score
I think both of the other people hit the nail on the head, you will be spending a lot of money trying to convert it to a GT. You'd be further ahead to sell the V6 and buy a GT, or keep what you've got and put a supercharger on the V6.