ported throttle body

SilentScope

Chemist by profession
Reaction score
Should i buy a twin 62mm throttle body or should i rather just bore/port my stocker? are the actual twin blades 62mm on the FRPP as opposed to 55mm on the stock, or do they still use 55mm blades and just bore out the entrance holes to 62mm?

sorry if this makes no sense at all...

JeremyH

3V Fuel Guru
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
The have bigger bores and bigger blades. And going from a stocker at 55 to a 62 is a big difference in size if you compare the 2 tb's.

JeremyH

3V Fuel Guru
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
I have a bbk 62mm and love it, zero issues. You can find them in the classifieds, the gt500 with an adaptor plate is gonna cost alil more and the frpp piece of course is the most $$. Its up to you.

SilentScope

Chemist by profession
Reaction score
yea im getting a few things polished so i figured ill get the bbk and send it in too.
thanks
and yea i would get a gt500 one. too much "modification" just for a bolt on and costs more...

06gtmustang

forum member
Reaction score
I ported and polished my stock tb a little. I had nothing else to do that day and i was told aftermarket ones wont help much if you dont have extensive mods done. I dont know if it helped any but most of the time they dont since the blade port/bore stays the same size

Last edited:

MexGT

forum member
Reaction score
try to buy a used GT500 TB, theres several guys who buy a monoblade for their GT500.

06gtmustang

forum member
Reaction score
I did remove a good amount of material unfortunately i didnt take a before pic

weeloGT

forum member
Reaction score
prob with the gt500 is the spacer you have to buy then your chaging the air intake distance, rather keep the throttle body where it is and port it for a little while til im ready to step up to a new intake, could you feel a better response with it ported, does it still idle smooth?

06gtmustang

forum member
Reaction score