TPMS sensors in an 05

Discussion in '2005+ Mustang GT 4.6L Tech' started by Bodvar, Feb 17, 2020.

  1. Bodvar

    Bodvar Junior Member

    26
    0
    So like the title implies, do you guys know how possible it is to put a TPMS system in an 05 or an 06? I know it needs a TPMS computer and an antenna to detect the sensors, but I'm unsure how possible it is to install those without major modifications. I'm really only asking because I found a good deal on a Bullit gauge cluster and I have the crappy 4 gauge cluster.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2020
  2. Juice

    Juice forum member

    1,147
    209
    TPMS is in the SJB. You will need to replace yours with an 07-09 SJB, install tpms sensors, and then program it.
    First, you will need to PMI the new (to you) sjb. Then program to sensors to the sjb. In theory, it would be all plug-n-play.
    Your current sjb might have the tpms stuff in it and you may be able to enable it, but I doubt it would be that easy. And still need wheel sensors.
     
    Bodvar likes this.
  3. Bodvar

    Bodvar Junior Member

    26
    0
    Dude I have been looking for this answer for hours. I also doubt the current sjb has it because it's an 05 and a couple of years away from 07.

    Do you know how I go about programming the new SJB? This 05 is the newest car I've ever owned and I'm not too good with understanding how the computer system works as I'm sure you can tell.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 17, 2020
  4. Juice

    Juice forum member

    1,147
    209
    Ford IDS or you may be able to use Forscan. But I warn you now. It is not a simple operation. To program the sjb, you need to load your "as-built" file for your car to the sjb and then enable TPMS. I have never done this, so I have no prior experience. I suspect if you can load the as-built file for an 07, it should work. But I am not 100% on that.
    Another thought just occoured to me, does you dash have an LED in the TPMS spot? You will likely need to atleast program the cluster to make the light work IF IT IS There.
    Bottom line is, you may need an instrument cluster 07&up. And to be able to access cluster programming, the PCM will may need to be updated. Or the newer cluster wont show up in the module scan.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2020
  5. RED09GT

    RED09GT Senior Member S197 Team Member

    1,880
    142
    For years, we all tried to do away with the TPMS system, now someone wants to add it.

    Crazy!
     
    Bodvar likes this.
  6. Bodvar

    Bodvar Junior Member

    26
    0
    I was thinking the same thing. I never owned a car with it so I have no biases for it or against it. But what I do hate is a message on my dash that shows that something is wrong when there isn't.
     
  7. Bodvar

    Bodvar Junior Member

    26
    0
    Ya so like i mentioned up top, I have a cluster from an 08 Bullit that was super cheap. I feel like I'm doing something that literally no one else has tried to do before and no one really knows what will happen.

    Now I feel hypocritical because I get annoyed by people at work who want crazy things done to their car that no custom shop would ever think about trying.
     
  8. Macman45

    Macman45 Resident Geriatric

    1,068
    54
    Can you not just put in the Bullitt cluster? Is it giving warnings you can't clear?
     
  9. Bodvar

    Bodvar Junior Member

    26
    0
    Yes it says it can't detect the module and the tpms light is on
     
  10. Bodvar

    Bodvar Junior Member

    26
    0
    you know I may just see about getting a 05-06 6 gauge cluster cheap and swap the Bullit facia over to that. Then sell the 08 one with the stock GT facia.
     
  11. Juice

    Juice forum member

    1,147
    209
    Well, you already have the cluster, so you just need an sjb and tpms sensors.
     
  12. Bodvar

    Bodvar Junior Member

    26
    0
    Mostly because it seems like the process is uncharted territory. I'd like to try, but what would stop me is just that.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2020
  13. MrAwesome987

    MrAwesome987 forum member

    Age:
    24
    585
    147
    I would highly suggest finding another cluster. The tpms system is so annoying.
     
  14. Juice

    Juice forum member

    1,147
    209
    If you just want the tpms light OFF, just put some tape over the LED, in between the board and overlay. Black duct tape and tweezers works well.
     
  15. Bodvar

    Bodvar Junior Member

    26
    0
    You know that's the feeling I'm getting from everyone on the internet. Like I said before this is the newest car I've ever owned so I have no experience with it beyond programming sensors to talk to the car.
     
  16. MrAwesome987

    MrAwesome987 forum member

    Age:
    24
    585
    147
    If it gave the actual tire pressure, it might be useful, but all it does is beep each time you start the car and turn the light on. Doesn't tell you which tire is the problem, or if it's too low or too high. Some manufacturers list the actual pressure. Oh, and the little batteries in the sensors don't last very long.
     
  17. Laga

    Laga Member

    270
    69
  18. MrAwesome987

    MrAwesome987 forum member

    Age:
    24
    585
    147
    If only Ford could have done that from the get go LOL
     
  19. Laga

    Laga Member

    270
    69
    True. The TPMS systems in my other cars works well. I have this system for 18 months. Works pretty well.
     
  20. RED09GT

    RED09GT Senior Member S197 Team Member

    1,880
    142
    TPMS is great for a truck on a logging road as it gives you advanced warning to find a safe spot to pull off before the tire is completely flat. Other than that, the early version on the 07-09 cars is just plain annoying. I have pulled off the freeway more than a couple times due to the tire pressure monitor fault lighting up and the terrible urgent sounding chime. Every time, the tire pressures have been identical in all 4 tires.
    Just do the piece of tape and be done with it.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.