Intermittent Fuel Pump: No Pressure or Priming

Feshdogg

2008 E-Force Bullitt
Reaction score
I have a GT500 fuel pump setup I have been running for almost 3 years now with an Edelbrock blower. I probably have over 50,000 miles on the setup so far, so it has been working for a while.

I went to start my car today and it could not start. I recently installed a new Optima yellow top, the starter was cranking the motor, I just wasn't getting any fuel. I was able to check my fuel rail pressure and fuel level through the OBDII port, and both read 'zero'.

I tried turning off the ignition several times to prime the pump and I could not hear it at all. I then tried starting the car again and still no luck.

After calling a tow truck (I was parked next to a parking meter ) I tried starting it one more time before he put me on the flatbed. Pump primed, car started, away I went.

I replaced the GT500 pump assembly and nothing has changed. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Steve

TexasBlownV8

Formerly TexasBlownV6
Reaction score
The pumps were likely not getting power. I don't know how you have the power feed and relay(s) wired in, but those should have been your first suspicions. How is the power feed connected, to the battery or to the bolt into the BEC?

I installed 'power-on' LEDs for being able to know when I have power to such circuits, so if there was an incident like this, I'd know if the pump circuits are getting power.
Also, the relay for power control could be loose, getting corroded connections, or just be getting bad.

JeremyH

3V Fuel Guru
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
I wold start by checking/replacing the relay in the trunk on the gt500 fuel system harness.

Feshdogg

2008 E-Force Bullitt
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

To be perfectly clear, I have the Saleen version of the Dual Pump Kit. The only difference, the way I understand, is the harness. It is very similar but slightly different. Both kits include the Ford dual pump assembly and second FPDM.