Hot rod cams install went wrong, need info.

Keckjr

Reaction score
Sorry, this is my first post on this site but I am at a loss and in need of help. I decided to do the hot rod cams install today and I'm fairly familiar with timing on cars since I mechanic for a living. But after the install I returned my car tune back to stock, downloaded my custom tune files from bama and reloaded the new bama tunes onto the car. Both times I tried starting the car it ran extremely rough and wouldn't get over 500 rpm until it finally backfired and died. I'm fairly certain that my timing was done correctly because when I went back on the install my timing marks were in the exact same spot since I marked the chain and phaser and I used the ford timing chain wedge to hold the lower section of the timing. Install went very smooth and when started there was no abnormal noise from under hood. It just sounds like it's fighting itself like a timing issue but I'm not entirely sure that it couldn't be my tune.. it's currently at my place of employment and they'll give me some time to mess with it, but I need this car as it is my daily driver. Are there ANY reasons that could make the car missfire and backfire out of the exhaust except for timing? Because I'm not exactly excited about the thought of pulling the cam covers again more or less the front timing cover itself. Any ideas or suggestions?

BruceH

BBB Big Bore Boss 322
Reaction score
You could try the stock tune again and see if anything changes. All you changed are the cams, right? Everything else is stock? All the connectors got hooked back up?

Keckjr

Reaction score