125K miles, what to do next?

302me

Reaction score
LIke the title says I have little over 125K miles on my 06'. I have done all the typical maintenance and normal up keep since the day I bought it new w/ 6 miles on the odometer. Nothing too aggressive so far, aside from a set of Pypes LT's, 4:10 gears and a Hurst STS. I'm not a mechanic or gear head by far, but I have a few ideas of what I want. For the time being, meaning years to come, I want to stay N/A.

Should I get a set of cams and PP heads and leave the stock internals alone, or should I start fresh w/ a new shortblock and work from there? The car still runs like a raped ape. I just drove it 400 miles from Philly to NH and it drives like the day I bought her.

I'm just concerned if I"m going to be wasting my money getting a set of cams and PP heads for a motor that has so many miles on it, or if because I'm pretty anal about the care of the car I souhldn't be worried about it and just get it done.

Any opinions either way is much appreciated, thanks in advance.

terry5357

S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Damn!!!! 125K miles is pretty dang good for a muscle car...... keeping the oil changed speaks for itself

302me

Reaction score
Oil/filter every 5k miles, two alternators, new set of plugs, fuel filter every 30k miles, trans fluid just 100k. She runs like new, shifts like butter and still breaks the wheels lose shifting into 3rd.

LuckyH

forum member
Reaction score
It depends on what your goals are for the car. Do you eventually want to go the F/I route? I would purchase a shortblock and start building it. If your staying the n/a route, I really can't see rods/pistons failing and ruining your heads. Your more likely to spin a bearing or see a loss in compression from the rings. Assuming that happens, I would look into another stock shortblock to transfer your heads over to and keep on driving. Have you done a compression check on the motor?

trill gear head

forum member
Reaction score
What are your goals?