5.0 Steeda Tri Ax Shifter

TGR96

el blanco nino
Reaction score
I purchsed the Steeda Tri Ax shifter and bracket for the MT82 transmission from a fellow forum member here on S197. It was in like new condition (visually, at least). The thing looks beautifully crafted, I almost hated to cover it up with the shifter boot!

Well, I think the thing has gremlins in it, because sometimes it shifts beautifully, but other times, I want to rip it through the floor board! My problem is actually two fold...First, sometimes it wants to go into reverse when I am trying to get it into 1st. Once this happened to me at a redlight, and it was quite embarrassing to say the least! I almost backed into the car behind me! Luckily, almost all the other times this has done this has been in parking lots. And FWIW, I have been driving a stick for over 20 years, so I'm no rookie to a manual!

The second issue is that sometimes, when I am sitting at a light, with the shifter in neutral, clutch disengaged, and the light turns green, and I press in the clutch and go to put the shifter in gear, it won't go into first or second at all. I have actually had to start from third gear a few times. Again, very frustrating, and a little un-nerving when there are cars waiting behind me.

I was just wondering if any other customers have reported any issues similar to mine, or if any other forum members might be able to relate to this.

For the reverse issue, I am thinking about installing the heavy duty spring that was included with the shifter, to hopefully make it a little more difficult to go into reverse accidentally. For the second issue, I am thinking of installing the softer bracket bushing (I am currently running the hard one), or maybe even switching back to the factory bracket. I was thinking this would give the shifter a little easier route to first and second gear.