cyclical vibration

pass1over

I like it LOW
Reaction score
put on a new set of new rear tires a few months ago and noticed a cyclical vibration from around 45-55mph from the rear of the car. Took it back and had them rebalance the rears, he showed me a video of my car on the balance machine and it has a little bit of a bend to it. You can see a little run out on the wheel as it spins. I do not remember having this vibration before the new rear tires were mounted.

What I've noticed though is, if I create the cyclical driving condition, then push the clutch in, the vibration goes away. Could this be something other than a slightly bent wheel?

Mojo88

Reaction score
I've been chasing these types of vibrations for many years. Sometimes they are easy to fix, other times not so easy. Now that I'm getting old (and 'maybe' a little wiser), I try to use the Occam's Razor principle in all these situations. In other words, the simplest and most obvious solution is usually the right one.

So, if you "do not remember having this vibration before the new rear tires were mounted", then I would certainly focus in on that area as the trouble spot.

And then you seem to confirm it by saying, "You can see a little run-out on the wheel as it spins". Damn, if you can actually see run-out on a video, then I would be focused like a laser on that. Maybe the wheel didn't get mounted properly, there could be an obstruction (washer perhaps) or maybe a little rust or crud (on top of, or below the rotor) stopping the wheel from being perfectly true to the hub. I would first want to get the rotor spinning perfectly true (measured with dial caliper), then make sure all surfaces are spotless, and mount the wheel, and check again with dial caliper.... making sure the wheel itself is running true.

Of course, it could just be a defective tire............

Hope this helps.Rotor Run out check.jpg

Last edited:

pass1over

I like it LOW
Reaction score