Front Roll Center Migration

ddd4114

forum member
Reaction score
It's probably a long shot that other people have tried to measure their roll centers and are willing to share, but I'd appreciate any tidbits of knowledge that anybody would like to post.

To provide some background, I have a 2011 GT with basically stock suspension. The only change I've made is camber plates to bring the angle out to a whopping -1 deg. The springs, dampers, bushings, etc. are exactly as they were from the factory. I've been doing HPDE events for a few years, and I've gotten to the point where I'd like to do some suspension work for two reasons. The first (and most obvious) reason is to improve grip and transient response, and the second is to stop shredding the outside edges of my expensive tires and lengthen their lives a bit. I'd like to start doing NASA TT this summer (hopefully in TTB), so I'm also looking for a solution that's cheap in terms of points and also for my wallet.

I could do the usual "replace the springs and shocks and see what happens" approach, but the nerdy engineer in me wanted to have a better understanding of the effects. Therefore, I decided to do some "quick" calculations that have left me scratching my head.

For now, I'm just looking at the car in steady-state cornering. I know it's a very narrow view of the whole picture, but it's a good and simple starting point. I spent a couple hours mapping out my suspension points to approximate my roll centers, and since I've never done this on a car with struts, I wasn't sure what to expect. Obviously my measurements can only be so good with a plumb-bob and a ruler, and since I'm neglecting bushing compliance, I'm not expecting a ton of accuracy. However, I've played around with my model enough that unless I made a significant measurement error, I think it's still in the ballpark.

Without any body roll, the roll center heights are pretty easy to find:

Mustang_RollCenterVsHeight_zps226b7046.jpg