Project less is more

Chenthorne

Reaction score
Hey guys new member here from Nashville Tn. I just recently bought a 2012 base model GT on Dec. 23rd. My plans for this car is to compete in the new SCCA STP class. Hoping to run 315 tires this year but we will see if that happends.

Just to give to give you guys a little bit of background about me. I'm a Mazda tech here in TN. Always loved suspension work. Naturally tinkering with the alignment machine at work, playing with coilovers/other suspension components and playing with scales has always been fun to me. This past year I had been autocrossing on and off my 2003 Mach 1. I have owned this car for 9 years now. Car is a blast to drive at autocross and at track days. Mach 1 mods are torque arm, extreme duty lower control arms, front coil overs, subframe connectors, torque arm springs, panhard bar, bigger rear swaybar, K-member, and exhaust mods. Car has been autocrossed lately on Dunlop Direzza ZII's. Tires are great but they can't hang with RE-71R's by any means.

Any how now on to the new car. I weighed the car at a friends house with a quarter tank of fuel and no spare/jack. I was hoping for 3500. I was pleasantly suprised.

Cross weights were better than I expected also.

Believe it or not the first thing I ordered for this car was the Boss 302 steering wheel. The factory wheel is made by rubbermaid and I just don't care for it. Other parts I have ordered and installed just yesterday are BMR adjustable panhard bar, Msd 2 step, and Boss 302 coil covers. Just little things for now until I can decide what company to spend my money with for springs and shock/struts.

I enjoy reading several of your build threads on here. Figured I would start my own. Any suggestions for things you guys like or didn't like just let me know.

Vorshlag-Fair

Official Site Vendor
Official Vendor
Reaction score