Ran over a spike, can it be fixed?

cavero

forum member
Reaction score
Found my tire flat when I got out of work today. Looks like I ran over a damn spike on the way in today:

DSC_0958.JPG

DSC_0972.JPG

DSC_0976.JPG

So the question is, can it be patched? What makes me worried is that this screw is 1/4" in diameter (threads) and the shaft w/o threads is 3/16". the angle it when it at bothers me a little too

skwerl

tree hugger
Reaction score
I would have no problem plugging it, but then I've been plugging holes in my tires for over 30 years and haven't had a plug fail yet. Some of the experts will tell you how it's somehow 'unsafe' to plug tires but that hasn't been my experience. The worst that can happen is that your tire ends up flat again.

And as far as belt separation, you will feel that long before it becomes dangerous. If you plug it and the tire becomes unbalanced or out of round, then go ahead and replace it.

And don't use cheap plugs or pluggers. I've carried one of these kits for decades and it has paid for itself dozens of times over. http://safetyseal.com/catalog/index...s_id=2&zenid=cb2cd8482dfc3abd67d2e5b9f064a5de

AnotherS197GT

Serial Valve Dropper
Reaction score
I fix that shit all the time at work. As long as the tire wasn't driven on while flat, you're fine.

cavero

forum member
Reaction score
Cool, the shop I've gone to before does a plug and a vulcanized patch, but I wasn't sure what it would have done to the belts.

downtime!

IAMKONABLUE
Reaction score
Yep, I'd be ordering a new tire if it was me. But I tend to drive a little "spirited" on the weekends, and the last thing I want on my car at speed is a plugged or patched tire. Normal driving, I'm sure you'll be fine though.

cavero

forum member
Reaction score
Yep, I'd be ordering a new tire if it was me. But I tend to drive a little "spirited" on the weekends, and the last thing I want on my car at speed is a plugged or patched tire. Normal driving, I'm sure you'll be fine though.