Question about JLT Cold Air Intake

MattSperry5.0

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to Mustangs and modding cars in general. I recently bought a JLT CAI, 3.73 gears, and a tune for my 12 Mustang GT. I had the tune set for the 3.73 gears, which will be installed Monday and I was thinking about installing the CAI tomorrow. My question is will my car still run with the JLT CAI if I wait to put the tune on until the gears are installed? Since the tune is set for 3.73 gears do I have to wait until the gears are installed to put the tune on? Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'd rather ask then take the risk of messing up the car! Thanks- Matt

fdjizm

Drag Queen
Reaction score
No, the JLT has a different sized MAF and you need to let the car know it's there.
It will run like crap or not at all.

zinc02gt

Reaction score
No, the JLT has a different sized MAF and you need to let the car know it's there.
It will run like crap or not at all.

It'll just run like complete crap. You can throw the tune on and install it. Your speedometer will be off until you install the tune.

MattSperry5.0

Reaction score
It'll just run like complete crap. You can throw the tune on and install it. Your speedometer will be off until you install the tune.

So it won't hurt the car at all to install the CAI and the tune before I actually have the 3.73's on the car? If so this is probably what I'll end up doing. Thanks

JEWC_Motorsports

S197 Junkie
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Matt you can load the tune and adjust the gear ratio with the sct.

MattSperry5.0

Reaction score
Ok thanks, sorry for some reason I didn't see your 1st post when I replied to his.

Kingcrabb

forum member
Reaction score
You can install the CAI. But it will idle like shit or wont idle at all. Will probably take 10 times trying to get it to idle. Once it does let it idle and give the o2's a chance to learn and it will run eventually it will run with no problems.