About painting interior

bossmanpena

Team OverDrive
Reaction score
I tried removing all interior plastics and had them painted but its started to chip and whatnot I was wondering if there might be a different method I should use to improve paint adhesion? Powder coating? Also the sem paint products does anyone recommend them?

JeremyH

3V Fuel Guru
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
You will need prep, adhesion promoter, paint and clear if you want it to hold up. Spray can stuff wont cut it.

swedensky

forum member
Reaction score
Need some help guys. I hate the chrome trim inside my 13, and hate the feeling when you touch plastidip. I'm looking to either go gloss black or a satin/brushed silver color. I have NO experience in painting and usually hate the outcome of my own projects. I wouldn't mind going to Hydrodipping except I don't want a pattern (unless you consider brushed silver). I also don't have the ability to go without all the interior pieces for longer than a day or so when I'm off.

I read these vvv as well. One thread says spray it in black plus clear coat, another says don't spray haha.

Any help and guidance is appreciated.

Pieces in question:
AC vent rings
Shift boot trim
Radio/AC knobs
MAYBE steering wheel spokes to match

Also want to paint the intake manifold cover, I have a spare though.

http://www.s197forum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=70636&highlight=Paint+interior
http://www.s197forum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=82921&highlight=Paint+interior

TenSpeed

Boss 227..every damn time
Reaction score
I hated the feeling of dip, like you. I found out that I was doing it all wrong. It was severely textured, almost like a rhino liner. I started using the gun metal grey like a primer. I cover in that, and then hit it with the black, enough coats to cover the grey. Well, damn, it is buttery smooth now. I am shocked at the results, but that is how I will be dipping from now on.

swedensky

forum member
Reaction score