Coyote CAI Quesitons- About to pull the trigger- Steeda, JLT

slicksilver

forum member
Reaction score
Looking at getting a basic plastic JLT/Steeda CAI and 93 octane (actual dyno tune, not a canned).

I am a total newb with these Coyotes, and I DID use the search function here to try to find out the answers, but here are my questions

- Why does the JLT Intake tubing diameter start small at the throttle body and then get bigger? The C&L Racer 95mm I had on my 3V was the same all the way through, throttle body to filter. Wouldnt this technically be a disadvantage? Or does it have something to do with idle quality, etc?

- After seeing a Steeda CAI, I'm a little torn. It just looks like such a quality piece when compared to the JLT.. metal inlet, metal shroud.. pretty nice. But for a DD that sits in traffic, i am told that I'd be better off with plastic JLT for heatsoak? true?

thanks for the patience with newb questions

Riptide

Will work for Mustang.
Reaction score
I thought these things gave zero performance improvement over the stock intake box?

Renesis07

forum member
Reaction score
I have a steeda intake I haven't installed, I only got it because it was a 'bundle' deal from a private seller with a boss Intake manifold. I drove his car before we took the stuff off and it definitely had some pull to it. How much of that was from the intake, manifold, or tune itself is unknown to me, but all 3 combined seemed to pull nice at WOT rowing thru gears.

Extensive research has told me that intakes on these cars put out minimal gains on their own, like I said, just got mine because the kid had 'that good' of a deal for both.

Kenaizer

forum member
Reaction score
The plastic will be a better insulator than metal. The chances of noticing the difference, performance wise, are slim. As are the gains a CAI alone generates. They do look and sound cool though.

07TGGT

@user
Reaction score