How awesome is the 5.0?

hastethedav

forum member
Reaction score
Hey all. I have a 2009 gtcs and am seriously considering selling it while it still holds a decent value. I definately want a 2011-12 grabber blue GT. The thing is im a full time student juggling almost full days of wok as well. Id sell my gt now and drive my dads old tahoe for 6 months or more to save so i wouldnt be drowning in car payments.

For all you 5.0 owners...are they as amazing as one would imagine? Im still young and stupid so part of me says go for it :D. Plus i want to get a manual car, was always too short but finally can reach the clutch comfortably haha

Just debating if i could go stanglesss for 6-9 months without goin craaazy haha

D98GT

STREETCAR
Reaction score
The cars are amazing and a large step up in performance compared to the 3v counterpart. I love my car but am currently speaking to a dealer trying to work out a trade. I have the manual and I just hate the transmission in this thing with it being notchy and not a pleasant experience for me. I am attempting to trade in on an automatic as they run GREAT times and I won't have to worry about transmission problems.

I'd say to read up in the 5.0 section of this site as well as others to see some of the common problems (which aren't with every car) and then go from there.

Bryan

forum member
Reaction score
I looked at them online for 2 days, saw how quick they were and youtube sold me on them. Went to 1 dealership and picked up a 2011 left over and got 6500 off sticker. I bought a premium with leather and auto for 29,600.00

If you can wait till april, thats the time when dealers are supposed to have the past years stock off the lot.

2011 new for 27040.00

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2011...2228302?pt=US_Cars_Trucks&hash=item1e63bb264e

2012 blue new for 33000 with brembo's

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2012...2816624?pt=US_Cars_Trucks&hash=item3a66347370