Model Car Kits

usafimj

Reaction score
So I'm currently deployed and my sis-in-law got me a model car kit of a '07 GT500. I've never put one together so what kind of equipment do I need. What kind of paint. Acrylic, enamel, lacquer, etc? What kind of brush? What else somes to mind

mfergel

forum member
Reaction score
I can shoot you some more info later when I'm on the computer. Do you have any kind of model/hobby shop in the area??

Sent from my iPhone

usafimj

Reaction score
Nope. I'll be doing this in my room or at work. Probably work since I'm there half my day. I bought some acrylic paint since brushes can be cleaned with water and some brushes on Amazon. Don't have access or probably can't get paint thinner for personal use in Afghanistan for enamel paint. Also bought a paint brush kit

usafimj

Reaction score
Testors is the paint I bought. I'm excited to build this car since I've never done it before.

mfergel

forum member
Reaction score
My one suggestion due to limited availability is try and get some liquid cement, such as Tamiya. I believe Testors makes some as well. Do NOT use the tube glues. Also, some of the sandpaper style nail files to sand off the points where the parts attach to the plastic sprue. I also recommend something like a nail clipper (scissors style) to remove the parts. With the paints, some water to thing them will help it flow a bit better. If you can find some 'hair' style brushes vs. the plastic brushes from Testors, that will help the paint flow on better. If you can, at least try and paint the body with a spray can. I've doubled up masking tape (looped it) attached it to the top of another can and use that as a way of holding the body while you spray the car itself. I'll offer up any advice I can if you have questions.

Believe it or not, these were all sprayed with a spray can.

ram_pcmodeler_com_Thunderbirdd-vi.jpg

Testors_AlumaCoupec-vi.jpg

AMT_Chrysler_Concordec-vi.jpg

AMT_Rumblurc-vi.jpg

Revell_Gran_Turismog-vi.jpg