MT-82 to 6R80

Trav4011

Hoosier Daddy?
Reaction score
Damn man, you're having a very hard time understanding what you read. My point was a 6sp trans can pull great 60fts AND get great gas mileage because it has more gears allowing for the rear end to be a lot lower that it could be with a 4sp. Having those extra gears also helps with acceleration at high speeds because of what you stated, but didn't give enough credence to. I put 4.10s in my 05 and it did help acceleration from a stand still, but it fell on its face when trying to floor it at highway speeds. I liked being able to mash the gas at 70mph and hit a 80-85mph in no time, that was lost when I took my 3.31s out for the 4.10s.

I build cars for a living, and have done so for 15 years.. I don't have a hard time understanding anything that makes sense. What's you're saying doesn't make any sense. The slight advantage that the 6spd has is nill, and you can properly gear the same exact car with a 4spd to do the same exact thing, and get the same fuel economy. I know so, because I've done it enough times, both ways. I'm not guessing, or bench racing. I speak from 15 years of experience in this business.

Is a 6spd superior? Yes.. Is it THAT big of a deal? No.. It's certainly not worth the extra cost, or the hit that you would take to trade in the manual and get a new 6spd auto. You could swap in a stock 4R70W with a good converter, and full auto controller for around 2 grand. It would run great times, and get good gas mileage as well.

Bmr4life

2005 GT
Reaction score