Next Mod for Drag Racing.

Batmobile5_0

Reaction score
I am new to the Mustang world but not new to drag racing and I am a mechanic by trade. My '14 GT is a base model M6 car with basic bolt ons including cai, off road x pipe, GT500 axle back, and Bama tune with weight reduction (dropped about 170lbs according to my scale). I have the car on a 28x10.5-15 MT Drags.

Even with the car having a 10.5 inch slick I still have traction issues. Specifically wheel hop, which I understand is common with these cars. Last time I took the car to the track it was stock other than a no tune CAI and on the MT Drags, the car ran 8.0 @ 88mph with a 1.8 60' with a 5500 RPM launch. Thats an OK 60' but I know there is more there.

So my question is what would you recommend as a first suspension upgrade? I have been looking into the '13 CJ drag springs, BMR LCA, and BMR relocation brackets. I would like to do all of them at once but money is tight, so which will give me the best bang for the buck?

FIVE-OH

forum member
Reaction score
If you have wheel hop, LCA's and relocation brackets.

Should stop that and improve your launch.

AlbertD

forum member
Reaction score
First suspension upgrade and most bang for the buck for you would definitely be those BMR LCAs.

2011/5.0

Reaction score
If your running the stock upper control arm i would recommend the rousch upper anti hop uca

Unreal

forum member
Reaction score
And weld your axle tubes.

LCAs are cheap and easy.

I would swap tunes too, but that is me.

fdjizm

Drag Queen
Reaction score
LCA's, relocation brackets, UCA (preferably adjustable), maybe some adjustable shocks.

Grabber Blue 5.0

forum member
Reaction score
Definitely a better tune at some point but your suspension needs work first.

Batmobile5_0

Reaction score