S197 V8 Engine temp gauge normal position

Laurence Dunn

Reaction score
Greetings all from the UK. I have a nice 2007 Redfire GT/CS. I'm new to the S197. Where does the temperature needle sit on these cars in normal running mode. Todays temp here was 10c or around 52F. My gauge sits at 45% from cold, is this normal? Or hot?

Mustang-GT-California-Special-4-scaled.jpg

Samos3

Reaction score
That's about where mine sits.
Be aware, though, most gauges like that now are not really gauges. More like three position warning lights. They will read 'cold' or 'normal' or ' hot', not a real sweep that gradually moves around to indicate temp. If you are running a little hot they will still sit at ' normal' until you are definitely hot and then move.
I cannot say that the Mustang gauge is one of those or not, so until that is confirmed, don't take that needle position to be an absolute indication.

Racer47

Doesn't have much to say
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
^^^ It is exactly this. By the time the gauge actually reads hot, you will probably have already known that it has overheated.

Jwood562

Reaction score
looks normal.

also are there any UK spec parts different from US?

Back in my honda days that was all the craze, JDM and UKDM rare parts

WJBertrand

forum member
Reaction score
I don’t think Ford ever built a UK spec S197 since they didn’t officially export them to there. They didn’t start doing that until the S550 came out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Jwood562

Reaction score
I don’t think Ford ever built a UK spec S197 since they didn’t officially export them to there. They didn’t start doing that until the S550 came out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Ah, good to know. welcome to the s197 club

Dino Dino Bambino

I have a red car
Reaction score