Slow 3v still cant hook

TheFourSixThatCould

Reaction score
I have a 08 gt, 5 speed, 320whp, and can’t hook for the life of me. I’m sure it’s 60% driver mod as I’m new to this but it’s got a built motor and I told myself I won’t boost it untill I can hook. The setup is
Viking double adjustable shock
Bmr springs
Gt500 FRP lower control arms
18’ 275/45/18 Firestone indy 500.
I can get a decent burnout but launching at 2500rpm is all spin. Any advice or videos to watch would be greatly appreacted as I cant get a sub 2’ 60 foot which is sad. I would think I don’t need a drag pack for a 300hp car also.

Pentalab

forum member
Reaction score
How much air pressure do u have in the rear tires ? Perhaps launching at a slightly lower rpm might help.

AHaze

Reaction score
I'm on the same tires. I spent hours hot lapping an 1/8th mile track last summer in pursuit of a decent 60'. All manner of clutch engagement technique / launch rpm combinations traction control on and off, pressures down to 15 psi. Nothing worked.
All three rear control arms are aftermarket and I have relocation brackets on the lowers. Wanted to go back with the front sway bar removed but it never happened. Doubtful it would have been enough to get me a 1.9x anyway.

Dino Dino Bambino

I have a red car
Reaction score
I have a 08 gt, 5 speed, 320whp, and can’t hook for the life of me. I’m sure it’s 60% driver mod as I’m new to this but it’s got a built motor and I told myself I won’t boost it until I can hook. The setup is
Bmr springs
I can get a decent burnout but launching at 2500rpm is all spin. Any advice or videos to watch would be greatly appreciated as I cant get a sub 2’ 60 foot which is sad. I would think I don’t need a drag pack for a 300hp car also.

Try launching at 2000 rpm and, as others have suggested, get a softer compound tire.