Steeda Tri-Ax Shifter Review

2011GT1979

12.3@110
Reaction score
Well, I ordered my shifter at the beginning of last week and decided to get off my lazy duff and install it this morning.

It is a pretty straight forward install. I thought the instructions lacked a bit to a complete novice. I would have liked to see more accurate pictures on the instructions for people who have no clue what they are looking at.

I am thinking of doing a more thorough how-to for people who are scared to try the install on their own.

Anyway, on to the review. As I said prior the installation was pretty straight forward. I took about 45 minutes for me to do the complete install and that was taking lots of pictures on the way.

After I installed it I took out for a joy ride. The shifting was slightly more notchy when compared to stock. But that is to be expected. I had read some other guys did not care for the shifter that much while just cruising around. I beg to differ, the shifter was just as precise under normal driving conditions as spirited driving.

I noticed it was maybe 15% shorter throw than stock. But as I said before it is very precise. You would almost have to be an idiot to miss 3rd with this shifter.

Compared with other short throws I have used in the past MGW, Pro 5.0, B&M, Hurst, and so on. I thought this was somewhere in between my old Pro 5.0 and my MGW that I had on my Cobra. I thought the MGW was the nicest shifter I had ever purchased.

All in all though. For the money this is a very nice shifter. Easy to install, great billet construction. I give it 4 1/2 out of 5 spark plugs.

Edit: Added pictures.
Shifter Before Install
DSC00189.jpg

DSC00190.jpg

During Install
DSC00205.jpg

DSC00207.jpg

DSC00208.jpg

I will post specific pictures if anyone has any questions.

Last edited:

Reaction score
Only thing i wanna know is how to get the centerpiece off of the console. Does it say in the instructions or what?

2011GT1979

12.3@110
Reaction score