S197 Mustang Forum - S197Forum.com

Go Back   S197 Mustang Forum - S197Forum.com > Mustang s197 Tech Forums > Hardcore Tech=*MOTOR SWAPS*

Hardcore Tech=*MOTOR SWAPS* Not your average tech! Motor swaps only!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2017, 05:13 PM   #61
ksack
forum member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,477
iTrader: 18 / 100%
ksack is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherS197GT View Post
__________________
06 GT-SOLD 21 Jun 14
97 Ranger Daily Beater-Totaled and Reborn
86 Ranger- Drag build in progress
ksack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 06:53 PM   #62
saleen07gt
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Age: 53
Posts: 426
iTrader: 1 / 100%
saleen07gt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Even though the 2007 a/c compressor bolts to the Coyote block, there is an alignment problem with the a/c belt. I do have the Coyote a/c compressor and it will require some custom a/c lines, I learned the hard way when it shredded the a/c belt. The pic will show the 2 compressors and the alignment difference.
Attached Thumbnails
IMAG0010.jpg  
saleen07gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 09:13 AM   #63
BMR Tech 2
Kelly's Replacement Lackey
 
BMR Tech 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 451
iTrader: 1 / 100%
BMR Tech 2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Why not just buy the Power By the Hour AC bracket? It's like $60. I've been running my AC for the last 15K or miles or so with that bracket and no issues.
__________________
Parker Bidwell
BMR Suspension, Inc
[email protected]
813-986-9302
BMR Tech 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 12:41 PM   #64
saleen07gt
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Age: 53
Posts: 426
iTrader: 1 / 100%
saleen07gt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMR Tech 2 View Post
Why not just buy the Power By the Hour AC bracket? It's like $60. I've been running my AC for the last 15K or miles or so with that bracket and no issues.
Thanks for the info, I just ordered the bracket, hopefully there's no issue using the F150 timing cover.
saleen07gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 03:09 PM   #65
saleen07gt
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Age: 53
Posts: 426
iTrader: 1 / 100%
saleen07gt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Power by the Hour a/c bracket worked, the bolts that they sent were too short so I used the originals,had to shorten them about 1/4 inch. I used the Coyote a/c transducer, wired the 3 wires to the pcm and CAN communication handled the rest. A/C works like a champ !
saleen07gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 09:56 PM   #66
braupe
Resident Diabetic...
 
braupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Fort Worth side of DFW
Posts: 288
iTrader: 14 / 100%
braupe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Ok, I officially need to do this swap. I just hate the idea of a fuel cap warning.
__________________
2006 GT ~FRPP HR CAMS~C&L Racer~Steeda UDP~JBA LT~Pypes O/R X Pipe~Borla S-Type A/B~MGW Shifter~FRPP K Springs~Koni STRT.S~J&M Panhard Bar~3.73.
2011 F150 4X4 Lariat Coyote. Ball Cooling Seats. Gibson Dualsport.
braupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 11:49 PM   #67
pics06gtstang
forum member
 
pics06gtstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: SWFL n ft myers
Age: 54
Posts: 398
iTrader: 5 / 100%
pics06gtstang is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

For your oil filter issue
You could probably use a sandwich for the oil cooler.
I used a GlowShift's Oil Filter Sandwich Adapter , it has 3 ports on the side for sending unit and oil cooler .
IIRC it was like 25 bux and does not leak , works great.
__________________
3 valve stroker, p1sc-1, HO intercooler,GT500 pump w/ 60# injectors , BBR stage1 cams ,magnaflo tru x catless w/flomaster outlaws . CFM LL ,, EXEDY puck. tri-ax shftr, 4.10 ,truetrac, moser, BMR LCA,S, , BMR adj. PHB . BMR LooPs, CHE/torq.adj.

Last edited by pics06gtstang; 05-10-2017 at 11:58 PM. Reason: I dunno
pics06gtstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 08:59 AM   #68
saleen07gt
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Age: 53
Posts: 426
iTrader: 1 / 100%
saleen07gt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pics06gtstang View Post
For your oil filter issue
You could probably use a sandwich for the oil cooler.
I used a GlowShift's Oil Filter Sandwich Adapter , it has 3 ports on the side for sending unit and oil cooler .
IIRC it was like 25 bux and does not leak , works great.
That's good to know. I recently learned that with the Mobil 1 extended performance oil filter I wouldn't even need to do any grinding (the diameter of the filter is smaller).
saleen07gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017, 11:06 PM   #69
saleen07gt
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Age: 53
Posts: 426
iTrader: 1 / 100%
saleen07gt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Update on the fuel system: My Walbro fuel pump failed after a few months, so I purchased a Coyote fuel pump, fpdm and pigtail. I installed the pump into the 3V hat. The fuel pump primes normal now, gas gauge still works, ck engine light went out for the P0460 (fuel level sensor circ). I'm going to go back to a returnless setup for now until I start making some decent power.
saleen07gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 10:12 PM   #70
RaceCar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0 / 0%
RaceCar is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Does anyone know what causes the fuel cap warning light? Does it have to do with the Evap equipment for the fuel tank or something like that? Or is it just a wiring difference between the 11-14 and 05-09? Any ideas?

I am strongly considering this swap on my '08 (either that or or sell the car since I recently got a newer sports car), but I can't have a fuel cap warning, as that is part of the emissions testing in Texas. I wouldn't be able to drive my car on the street anymore ... Maybe that should be an excuse to strip the car and make it a full time racecar ...
RaceCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 05:41 PM   #71
saleen07gt
forum member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Age: 53
Posts: 426
iTrader: 1 / 100%
saleen07gt is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I believe if you get the 2011 -14 fuel tank and charcoal canister you would eliminate that message.While you're at it, pick up the coyote FPDM also, it will prime normal. I've been told by some that it can be eliminated in a tune and I've also been told that it cannot be eliminated in a tune

Last edited by saleen07gt; 08-09-2017 at 06:03 PM.
saleen07gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger