barbq ? Gourmet chef ?

Ken04

gm troll basher
Reaction score
I know there's got to be some southern barbq boys out there. I'm doing a little catering here and there. I like to consider myself a gourmet and a barbq fanatic.

I have an offset smoker, a gas grill, a Weber kettle for outdoor cookin. I prefer the Memphis style but also like the Carolina sweet vinegar thin sauce on whole hog. Haven't done a whole hog yet, but maybe this summer ?

I also love just plain old cooking, but do like the high end stuff. Especially charcuterie, I'm just getting into the home sausage making and curing. The last few attempts have come out very well.

xarmor

Reaction score
Not a gourmet by any means but I love to bbq! I spend at least one Sat. a month around the smoker. I am partial to Texas bbq but I prefer the sauces and spices from the Carolinas. My wife is a Chef so I leave all the fancy stuff to her. I have a pit on a trailer so hopefully I can bring it to some mustang outings. I hope this thread takes off as I know there are plenty of bbq gurus out there. Hers a few pics to get it started.....

Some Ribs last weekend
Picture167.jpg

Picture026.jpg

Picture170.jpg

Some Mac N Cheese that went with it all. Kids love this stuff!!!
Picture146.jpg

Last edited:

JimC

Reaction score
That is some good looking barbeque!

My wife and I were just talking about the mac and cheese - is it a southern tradition or something? Someone we were talking with recently, from the south, said that mac and cheese is a Thanksgiving tradition for them.

xarmor

Reaction score
Heres the Mac recipe if anyone is interested. The one really important step is to let the noodles cool down enough before adding the egg / evap milk, if you pour it inwhile the noodle are to hot the eqqs will cook and curl!

Mac & Cheese

7 cups water
3 cups uncooked mac elbows
1 tbs salt
1 stick butter
1 12oz can evaporated milk
3 eggs
1 lb Velveeta cheese, cubed
10-12 oz sliced block sharp cheddar cheese
Paprika