Choosing a one piece driveshaft and troubleshooting vibrations

$teve

Reaction score
Note - I am posting this on a few forums I follow as I expect others can benefit from my experience. I apologize if you've already seen it.

Below is a detailed write-up based on my personal experience of months of driveshaft vibration troubleshooting. I'm a little wiser now, and though the board could benefit from my experience. I caution you that I am not an expert, but that I've learned a fair amount along the way and ultimately solved my vibration.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A. Choosing the driveshaft

- Important!
nono.gif
Investigate the manufacturer thoroughly:
1) How long have they been in the driveshaft business?
2) Do they make, repair, and sell driveshafts for vehicles other than Mustangs?
3) What kind of facilities do they have? Do they have in-house high speed balancing equipment and runout gauges?
4) What is their guarantee / return policy?

- Pick from one of the two main types of shafts:
1) A Ford Ranger aluminum shaft that has been shortened. The aftermarket driveshaft shop sources the shaft from Ford, cuts the tube and rewelds the end on.
2) A custom made shaft. A couple of shops offer shafts made from scratch. Typically they are using new Alcoa aluminum tubes to make the shaft.

- A note on reworked Ranger shafts:
1) These shafts are manufactured by Ford and reworked by the shop. A shop that exclusively reworks Ranger shafts likely doesn’t have the full range of equipment that a full service shop does.
2) Consider that these shafts were engineered for a small pickup truck, not a high performance Mustang. However, consensus is that they adequately strong – question is whether that are refined enough (see next item).
3) More than one shop has stated that many of these shafts come from Ford with issues. Some exhibit runout (a hop up and down) and/or tubes that are not perfectly round.