First Time at the track, Summit Point.

stepqhen

forum member
Reaction score
I did my first track event this past Friday. It was a “Friday at the Track” at Summit Point Raceway, so I figured that I would put together one of these threads for myself.

First a little about background about me.

I got into driving back in 1997 in a Pacific Green Mustang Cobra. I did Solo Trials on the old runways at Stapleton for a couple of seasons and did pretty well. I tried Autocrossing then as well and pretty much sucked at it.
I got out of the sport for several years until 2011 when I picked up my current Mustang. I have been attending most of the local events since 2011 with varying levels of success. I am clearly not the fastest driver in my region, but I am not the slowest either.

The car setup is pretty tame since it is my daily driver, but it does pretty well. The current set up is:

Engine – large Steeda CAI and SW long tube headers with high flow cats. I am running a 91 Octane Bama tune, but I am shopping for a new tuner as I am unhappy with the current philosophy of locking down everything and forcing customers to start the tuning and fine tuning process over just to change gear ratios, but I digress).

Standard MT82 with an MGW shifter, stock 2 piece driveshaft, Torsen T2R with 3:55 gears. (went down from 3:73, see comment about tune above). ACT clutch and lightweight flywheel.