Help with oil temp gauge

Manny

forum member
Reaction score
I had an Auto Meter Sport Comp II oil temp gauge (electric) installed and I am not sure it is working right. If I am driving the needle doesn't move from the lowest point on the scale, 140 F. If I stop and let the engine idle it slowly moves up; start driving and it goes back to 140 F. Is this normal? What should I see as the normal operating temp while driving? Thanks in advance.

Manny

forum member
Reaction score
I was told that the sender was put at the same place where the OE sender is.
They put a new connection so as not to interfere with the signal going to the
car computer.

Manny

forum member
Reaction score
That is all I know. It was connected in the same place where the oil temp sensor that goes to the car computer is located. Same place where they connected the oil pressure gauge which seems to be working fine.

don_w

Dyno Numbers - Who Cares?
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I was under the impression that oil temp needed to exceed 212 degrees to ensure that any moisture in the oil would evaporate out. Acids can begin to form in water remaining in the oil, which can damage bearings if allowed to sit for long periods of time.

MikeVistaBlue06

Inventor: Asshole Points
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Just venturing a guess here, but the oil pan would be the best place for the sending unit.

Mike

G.T

Reaction score
do you have a pic of where the sender is installed?
perhaps you could check it with a voltmeter... start the car up and read the voltage output from the sensor.
if the output remains constant after the engine warms up, then the sensor is faulty
if the output changes.. check the wiring to the gauge.. and if that checks out, change the gauge!

MikeVistaBlue06

S197 Team Member
Reaction score