My first time ever in a drag track...

Virgin_Mustang

forum member
Reaction score
I just got back from the track. And the first thing to say is I sucked..

First run I ran 14.7
Second run I ran 14.22

I had stock tires on 275/40/18 fanblades ( stock rims ) michelin pilot sport.

If your wondering my mods

lca,uca,relocation brackets, 4.10's, spydershaft, cmcv, jlt II , and a 93 extreme tune. ohh yeah and MGW short throw shifter.

Guys Any tips ? what to do ?

u know the second run was vs a camaro with cams and lt's and slicks.. thats what I only know ... he got 14.42

do u think nittos will be good for this track ? and how hard is it to remove the front sway bar ? whats the correct tire pressure on front and rear wheels ? should I take off the spare tire or not ?

Please help me as im new to drag racing.. and getting 14 with my mods is embarasing..

Virgin_Mustang

forum member
Reaction score
Ohh yeah Is it OK for my stock diffrential to have slick tires ? If so whats the safest size of rims and tires should I got ? and with the nittos.. what rpm should my launch be ?

Edit : I also heard a huge knock on the diffrential while taking my foot of the clutch in my two runs... its just for the take off..

Thanks all..

Last edited:

stkjock

---- Madmin ----
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
BFG are stock tires are 235/50/18... so what do u have??? confusing post...

if your gonna get dedicated track tires/rims... get 16/17" and M/T ET Streets. they seem to hook best....
I'll let the more experienced guys answer the rest...

don_w

Dyno Numbers - Who Cares?
Reaction score
First of all, congrats on getting your drag strip cherry popped. :onfire: How did you like it? Also, drag racing isn't as easy as it looks... especially with a MT. The more you practice, the better you get. And practicing is fun! :clap: