Sound proofing interior

monk36

forum member
Reaction score
I'm planning on putting some sort of sound deadening material down, probably dynamat extreme, on the interior including doors, floor, roof, and trunk. Ya ya, it will add some weight, but I could really care less. I can't get enough traction anyway, and it's my daily.

My question is, for the entire interior, would 72 sq ft of material do it, or would I need more?(dm extreme comes in 36 sq ft packs) Also, is there something more preferred than dm extr in terms of price or function? I'm not looking to spend any more lol than the dm, and I have heard it's one of the easiest to work with. However, I'm new to this, and the searching I did was inconclusive. For those of y'all that have done any sound deadening, what has worked for y'all?

Last edited:

TexasBlownV8

Formerly TexasBlownV6
Reaction score
I dynomat'd the under rear seat, up the rear sides part of the way, and then back and into most of the trunk, using 5 out of 9 'sheet's in the pack. It really helped knock out a lot of the rear end, tire, and exhaust noise.

Ky S197

forum member
Reaction score
I've dynomatted the trunk and under the rear seat, it really helped with the drone and volume of the exhaust. I plan on doing the doors and floor pan. I've already used 40 square feet of the dynomat extreme. BTW i bought the 36 sf package off ebay for 139 shipped.

3VPOWA

S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Look into SecondSkin instead of the overpriced Dynamat.

When I get the time I plan to use the Damplifier Pro and OverKill in my doors and Damplifier Pro in my trunk.

http://www.secondskinaudio.com/

And watch out if you use eBay to buy DM. Sometimes it's not truly DM but something else with the DM symbol on it.

Kris_H

forum member
Reaction score