Tips for removing ball joints

Beerhunter

forum member
Reaction score
I have searched everywhere and I cannot find much information on replacing ball joints. The only information I can find is that the control arm needs to be replaced with the ball joint. I have also read that you don't need to do this :confused: I heard you can simply press out the old ball joint while it is still on the car. This is the route that I am hoping to go. I have the ball joints and I have a ball joint press. My question is, what parts do I have to remove to before I start clamping down with the press? and b) should I be trying to press it out from the top or from the bottom.

I have never done this before but I have wrenched a lot of things in the past. Any tips or directions would help greatly. I'm trying to do with removing as little parts as possible.

Thank you

Beerhunter

forum member
Reaction score
Thanks for that! These are great instructions. The instructions in the Moog box sucked as they were very generic. I'm off to give it another kick at the can!

BruceH

BBB Big Bore Boss 322
Reaction score
I recently had to take them out for a k member install. First take the bolt completely out as the ball joint has a failsafe and locating groove that won't let it come out until the bolt is removed. Next, knock the ball joint out. I had to knock one out and one just required a push. I reused the control arms.

Beerhunter

forum member
Reaction score
OK, first stumbling block. In the instructions it says to remove that cotter pin on the crown nut (didn't have one just a regular nut) and it should fall out. Well I removed the nut that was there but it certainly didn't fall out. Is this piece threaded in and I have to wrench it out somehow or should I get a big f'ing hammer and force it out?

steering.jpg

killr3v

Hector G.
Reaction score
That looks like the tie rod

Sent from my galaxy II while double clutching and blowing the welds on the intake.

Beerhunter

forum member