EPCmolding.com -Scam site or genuine?

Kev555

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Posts
385
Reaction score
175
Location
Ireland
Came across this website selling 4.6 cams among other S197 stuff for unrealistic money, has to be a scam? or cheap fake shite that will eat your engine. Dodgy description not applying to cams either. just want to put it out there.
 
Last edited:

GriffX

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2017
Posts
1,519
Reaction score
1,042
Location
Rural Germany
The benigne explanation could be a company who buys stuff from broke companies or clearance parts. But, from 1100$ to 70$ is a big drop.
For my old Mercedes I got sometimes "new" parts which have been on the shelf for over 10 years. I once got a supercharger belt so old and it didn't last one year.

Or, parts made in shady China factories?
 
Last edited:

BullittSS

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Posts
57
Reaction score
33
Location
New Braunfels, Texas
All kinds of red flags on their website, particularly on the 'Shipping And Returns' page -- and once they have your billing info there is no going back...
 

MrBhp

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2013
Posts
1,782
Reaction score
1,500
Lot of those scam sights out there. They seem to always "sell" the most bizarre stuff. Camshafts, toothpaste, furniture, and salt water taffy.
Run away.
 

GriffX

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2017
Posts
1,519
Reaction score
1,042
Location
Rural Germany
Payment in euro, dollar, australian dollar and british pound, no impressum, looks like a Chinese Everything store on aliexpress. Since the EU invented a special custom fee for cheap parts (laptop fan from China 5$, since new fee 40$), Chinese stores rented storehouses in Europe and filled them with everything and sell from there to avoid it. Looks similar.

PS: I found camshafts on aliexpress for 100$
 
Last edited:

MrBhp

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2013
Posts
1,782
Reaction score
1,500
I was just searching for a battery powered fan. We have a couple of the eGo brand tools, I figure I'll look at those. I did a Google search and came up with a few. Clicked on one sight I've never heard of. When I scrolled down the page I see what at first looks like the "Overstock" trademark. Upon closer inspection I see that it actually says "Ovarstack", but in the exact same font. Sneaky little yellow devils.
 

GriffX

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2017
Posts
1,519
Reaction score
1,042
Location
Rural Germany
Did you buy them? if so how did it go?
I bought from these China europe based warehouses, e.g. a coolant pressure test/vacuum fill system and it was for private once in a while use totally fine. And for complaints I had no problem at all with Chinese sellers usually they give a rebate instead of changing parts.
 

Support us!

Support Us - Become A Supporting Member Today!

Click Here For Details

Back
Top